sitego.blogg.se

Dupli color candy apple red
Dupli color candy apple red








dupli color candy apple red

If a person is lucky enough to do all the above perfectly, the fact that the final product is lacquer that's now really thick means it'll most likely start cracking within a couple years. Once all that's done, you need several coats of clear over the candy for color sanding since you can't color sand the candy itself without screwing up its appearance.

dupli color candy apple red

Then you have to be able to lay the candy down with even greater degree of perfection than the base, because its translucent properties demand near perfect application to avoid light and dark areas. Any stripes or mottling will show thru the candy. You have to be able to lay the metallic base (most commonly gold or silver) down with no striping from improper gun handling or incorrect overlap. True candy colors are the most difficult of all automotive paints to lay down and end up with a satisfactory job. The only thing about it that makes it the "latest" is that its one of the latest marketing gimmicks dreamed up to separate you from your money in exchange for a shit product. It's a ripoff scheme where they sell you pre-thinned low quality lacquer for a price that's 2 to 3 times what the good stuff would cost you. Don't waste you time and money on the Duplicolor stuff. Real acrylic lacquer is still available from several of the major paint manufacturers. My question is - has anyone painted with the Paint Shop stuff, and has anyone tried the Candy? I'm serious enough about it that I'm going to go to the local Pick-A-Part for a couple of $15 fenders to do some practicing. The stuff is relatively inexpensive and promises to be user-friendly. Dupli-Color has a genuine Candy lacquer available in Red, Tangerine, and Green. And I'm also thinking of doing something I've never done but always wanted to - paint a true Candy Apple Red paint job. After having a good laugh about how "everything old is new again," I'm seriously considering shooting my Merc with this stuff. Now, I see that the "latest" in hobbyist paint is the Dupli-Color Paint Shop lacquers. My problem is - I'm more and more aware that the Base/Clear stuff is not exactly home painter friendly, and frankly, I remember that the first few jobs I shot were acrylic lacquer and I liked the hell out of the process.

DUPLI COLOR CANDY APPLE RED FULL

I haven't shot a full paint job for about 15 years, back when my dad and I were rebuilding 60s Chevy pickups to sell. I have a '68 Merc that I'm getting ready to paint. At the risk of getting ripped and made fun of.










Dupli color candy apple red